ICC certificates are issued by the RYA by applying with proof of competence. Evidence of competence may be provided by either:

Providing an RYA certificate RYA Powerboat Level 2, RYA Dayskipper etc.

By passing a test of competence at an RYA recognised teaching establishment. This can be done on your own boat. Click here for details.

Applicants for the inland category must have passed a test of the CEVNI (European Inland Waterways Regulations) at an RYA Recognised Training Centre.

The ICC is used by UK nationals and others* visiting countries where certificates of competence are mandatory.

Please note. If you are not eligible for an ICC don’t worry! RYA Photo ID Course Certificates are accepted as proof of competence in France and other Mediterranean countries.

Countries where the ICC is Mandatory:

For coastal areas in Northern Europe and Scandinavia, the ICC is generally not required. There are exceptions and these include Poland and the Baltic States of Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia. It is also useful to have one in Germany.

In the Mediterranean an ICC is usually required, particularly in Italy, Greece, Croatia and Turkey. Portugal also require skippers to hold the ICC.


The International Certificate of Competence issued by the RYA is available to British Citizens or bone fide British Residents over 16 years of age.

*Note! As from the 01/03/2011 the RYA will be able to issue the ICC to nationals of the USA, Canada, France, Russian Federation, and any country which has not yet adopted UN Resolution 40. For the latest information please click the link below.

The RYA can not issue ICCs to nationals of these UNECE member countries:
Austria, Belarus, Belgium,Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Switzerland.

The ICC is issued free to Royal Yachting Association (RYA) members and is also available to non members.

Click here to download an ICC application form

Click here to download an ICC renewal form


Applicants for the ICC will have shown competence in:

  • IRPCS collision regulations.
  • Use of safety equipment.
  • Pilotage and navigation.
  • Boat handling at high and low speed.
  • Inland waterway regulations. (online CEVNI test required. Please contact us for details)


The International Certificates of Competence training has been approved to standards agreed with the Maritime and Coastguard Agency, the UK Government department responsible for maritime safety.

Buy RYA CEVNI Handbook at the RYA Shop